Susquehanna MOAA
Susquehanna MOAA Susquehanna MOAA
Member Login    News        Photos    Event Calendar    Search        
ARMY    MARINE CORPS    NAVY    AIR FORCE    SPACE FORCE    COAST GUARD    NOAA    USPHS
Susquehanna MOAA

Susquehanna MOAA
Susquehanna MOAA Susquehanna MOAA
Harford County Veterans Commission

Veterans helping Veterans: an inside look at the Harford County Veterans Commission Susquehanna...
Read More

Register for News Story Emails.
Susquehanna MOAA
 
Site Navigation: Expand

>  Home Page
>  About Us

>  Chapter Programs

>  Membership

>  MOAA Resources

>  Contacts


Action Alerts HB 1251 and SB 005 March 8 2022

Text, logo

Description automatically generated

 

A picture containing logo

Description automatically generated

 

 

Serving Veterans through Legislative Advocacy

 

 

 

 

 

 

Call to Legislative Action

 

Dear MMC Member (and Friends of MMC),

We have just completed week eight. Any bill that we want passed MUST clear the original committee and "cross over" to the other chamber by March 21st. That means that if we want to "get it done" THIS session, we need to get favorable committee reports. While much can happen in the next two weeks, we need to step it up.

I am proposing TWO action alerts this week. While it will take a bit more work on your part, I KNOW we can make a difference with our letters to our delegates.To do this, we need EVERYONE'S help!

Hopefully by now you know the drill. But just in case.....Follow these steps.

  1. Determine your representatives. Use this link; click on lookup and type in your address. RECORD THIS INFO...you'll continue to need this. Let your Organization's Director know so we can better target emails in the future.
  2. Send the FIRST email to YOUR Delegate. Cut and paste the email template below into your email.
  3. Insert the needed info at the [XXX- ] and feel free to modify the email as needed. If your Delegate isn't on the Committee ask him/her to support the bill when it comes up for vote.
  4. Send a separate email to Delegate Rosenberg and the delegates on the Gov't Ops Sub-Committee. Use the emails below. Bonus points if you send letters to ALL of the Delegates on the full committee.
  5. Copy MDMilCoalition@gmail.com (I'll be recording the number of letters by organization).

 

Delegate

District

Email

 

Samuel Rosenberg

41

samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

 

Brian Chisholm

31B

brian.chisholm@house.state.md.us

 

Terri Hill

12

Terri.Hill@house.state.md.us

 

Steve Johnson

34A

steve.johnson@house.state.md.us

 

Anne Kaiser

14

anne.kaiser@house.state.md.us

 

Ken Kerr

3B

ken.kerr@house.state.md.us

 

Nicholaus Kipke

31B

nicholaus.kipke@house.state.md.us

 

Cheryl Summers Landis

23B

cheryl.landis@house.state.md.us

 

Sheree Sample-Hughes

37A

Sheree.Sample.Hughes@house.state.md.us

 

Kathy Szeliga

7

kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us

 

Karen Lewis Young

3A

Karen.Young@house.state.md.us

 

 

 

 

Chairwoman

Shane E. Pendergrass

13

shane.pendergrass@house.state.md.us

Vice Chair

Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk

21

joseline.pena.melnyk@house.state.md.us

 

Heather Bagnall

33

heather.bagnall@house.state.md.us

 

Lisa Belcastro

11

lisa.belcastro@house.state.md.us

 

Harry Bhandari

8

harry.bhandari@house.state.md.us

 

Alfred Carr, Jr.

18

alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

 

Bonnie Cullison

19

bonnie.cullison@house.state.md.us

 

Ariana Kelly

16

ariana.kelly@house.state.md.us

 

Susan Krebs

5

susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

 

Robbyn Lewis

46

robbyn.lewis@house.state.md.us

 

Matthew Morgan

29A

Matt.Morgan@house.state.md.us

 

Teresa Reilly

35B

Teresa.Reilly@house.state.md.us

 

Sid Saab

33

Sid.Saab@house.state.md.us

 



Subject Line: HB 1251 - I urge your STRONG Support!

Dear Delegate [xxxxxx]

I am writing as a member of [YOUR Vet Organization], a member of the Maryland Military Coalition to urge your support for HB 1251, "Department of Veterans Affairs - Burial in State Veterans' Cemeteries - Spouses and Dependents", sponsored by Delegate Chanel Branch (District 45) and other Delegates.

Under current state law, eligible spouses and dependents of veterans must provide the cost of burial with their sponsor in one of the five Maryland State Veterans Cemeteries. HB 1251 would authorize and direct our state to waive the cost, which presently is $828 per burial.

The State Department of Veterans Affairs' (MDVA) Annual Report (2021) shows that 3929 veterans and dependents were interred in our state veterans cemeteries in 2020. Over the past five (5) years, on average, 3405 veterans and dependents have been buried in a state cemetery.

I recommend that you support HB 1251 and work to see that it receives a FAVORABLE report as it proceeds through the legislative process.

Sincerely,

Name, Rank
Address
District


Second Alert

SB 005 - Establishing a Tuskegee  Airmen Commemoration Day

Senate - Education, Health & Environment
 

 

Senator

District

Email

Chair

Paul Pinsky

22

paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us

Vice

Cheryl Kagan

17

cheryl.kagan@senate.state.md.us

 

Mary Beth Carozza

38

marybeth.carozza@senate.state.md.us

 

Arthur Ellis

28

arthur.ellis@senate.state.md.us

 

Jason Gallion

35

jason.gallion@senate.state.md.us

 

 Katie Fry Hester,

9

katiefry.hester@senate.state.md.us

 

Clarence Lam

12

clarence.lam@senate.state.md.us

 

Obie Patterson

26

obie.patterson@senate.state.md.us

 

Edward Reilly

33

edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us

 

Bryan Simonaire

31

bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us

 

Mary Washington

43

mary.washington@senate.state.md.us


Use the same 5-step process as above.

Subject Line: SB 005 - Please Support Establishing a Tuskegee Airmen Commemoration Day

Dear Senator [XXXX]

I write as a member of [YOUR Vet Organization], a member of the Maryland Military Coalition, to urge your support for SB 005, a bill to establish a Commemoration Day honoring the Tuskegee Airmen (Senators Patterson - District 26- Ellis and Carozza).

The recent passing of Brigadier General Charles McGee, USAF-Ret., a highly decorated combat veteran of three wars, one of the last surviving members of the Tuskegee Airmen and a resident of Maryland, brings to mind the extraordinary service and sacrifice of these American heroes from World War II's 'Greatest Generation'.

In the last session of the Maryland General Assembly, a similar bill establishing a Commemorative Day in honor of the Tuskegee Airmen was not favorably reported, unfortunately.

Please do all you can to ensure that SB 005  receives a FAVORABLE Report.

Sincerely,

Name, Rank
Address
District



I have heard many times from Legislators that it's the number of letters that they receive that often makes the difference in whether to support a bill or not. Your letters DO make a difference. If SB 005 makes it to crossover, we'll be sending out another alert on its companion bill, HR 479, next week.

Thanks for all you do!

Bob Norton
President

 

 

 

 

Legislative Updates

 

 
 

We continue to follow 53 bills. HB 237/ SB 365 has passed in both Chambers. Four bills have passed in one Chamber and two others have received a favorable committee report. See the tracker here.

We have generated 571 letters so far from 8 organizations. We are doing better than last year, but let's push this number to at least 750.
Chart, bar chart

Description automatically generated

 

Save the Dates

 

See you in Annapolis!
Remember to send your RSVP and check to John
Table

Description automatically generated with low confidence

A picture containing logo

Description automatically generated

 

 

The Maryland Military Coalition is a registered non-profit, non-partisan advocacy organization, comprised of prominent Maryland-based veteran and military groups, that seeks to protect and enhance the well-being of the uniformed services community -- including currently serving, veterans, retirees and their families and survivors -- by raising awareness and advancing legislative proposals and policies before the Maryland General Assembly and the Office of the Governor.

 

Twitter

Website

Facebook

 

 

 

Copyright © 2021 Maryland Military Coalition All rights reserved.
www.MarylandMilitaryCoalition.org
President, Bob Norton





Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

 

 

why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Maryland Military Coalition · 1101 Mercantile Ln Ste 260 · Largo, MD 20774-5363 · USA
 

Susquehanna MOAA
Susquehanna MOAA
Susquehanna MOAA

Susquehanna MOAA

· Copyright ©2022 Susquehanna MOAA PO Box 243 APG MD 21005 ·
· Contact Susquehanna MOAA · Editorial and Privacy Policies · Webmaster · Browser and Email Settings ·